Bloom's taxonomy, blooms taxonomy, B.ed, B.ed first year bloom taxonomy, educational objectives, cognitive domain, affective domain, psycho-motor domain, MDU


Bloom’s Taxonomy of Educational Objectives:

Bloom taxonomy was given by Benjamin S. Bloom in 1956 and he classified the educational objectives into three domains. The word taxonomy derived from the Greek word taxis which means systemic classification. Professor Bloom and his associate, University of Chicago developed and classified the domains of educational objectives. 

Professor Bloom presented his taxonomy (1965) related to cognitive domain giving emphasis to the hierarchy of cognitive process in attaining knowledge and development of thinking.

Later, Krathwhol (1964) introduce effective domain and Simpson (1966) developed psychomotor domain. Thus, affective and psychomotor domains came into existence. This classification objective is known as Bloom’s taxonomy of educational objectives.

Three Domains, cognitive domain, affective domain, psycho-motor domain, blooms taxonomy
Three Domains

Thus, Bloom’s taxonomy consists of three hierarchical models that are used to classify educational learning objectives into levels of complexity and specificity. It covers the learning objectives into three domains:
  • Cognitive Domain (related to knowledge field.)
  • Affective Domain (related to feeling or emotional field)
  • Sensory Domains (Psychomotor domain related to doing field)
blooms taxonomy, cognitive domains, affective domain, psycho-motor domain
Tabular Form of Bloom's Taxonomy

Here, the Cognitive domain related to the knowledge field.

Affective domain related to the feeling field.

Psycho-motor domain related to doing field.

These above-mentioned three domains are mutually interrelated and interdependent also. In the education system, most of the educational activities should be planned to develop all these domains of the learner.

Keywords: B.ed, Bloom's taxonomy, Bloom's taxonomy, MDU, KU, B.ed First year

All Rights Reserved to educationphile.


Post a Comment

Thank you for visiting

Previous Post Next Post